.IE Digital Town Awards Shortlist 2022

.IE Digital Town
by Ally Smith
13 May 2022

Projects across 13 counties have been recognised for their use of digital technologies and innovation to transform or enhance towns and communities for the betterment of local people, communities, and wider society.

The shortlist for the 2022 .IE Digital Town Awards, was announced today by .IE, the managers of Ireland’s trusted online .ie address.

Following a competitive selection process by an independent judging panel, the wide-ranging list of shortlisted projects includes themes such as digital equity, closing the digital divide, emergency response, digital infrastructure, and digitisation of culture and oral traditions.

Now in its second year, the .IE Digital Town Awards honour local town projects and people that are using digital innovation, technologies, and digital-first thinking for the betterment of towns, citizens, and services in the community.

The awards were launched as part of €1 million investment announced by .IE in 2021. There are 7 award categories, including three special awards recognising a Digital Changemaker, Digital Rising Star and a Digital Local Hero. An Overall Winner will also be announced at the gala awards ceremony next month.

This year’s shortlisted projects cover the full spectrum of idea development and readiness, including those who are early in their digital journey as well as established, sophisticated projects. All are in with the chance of winning one of 13 awards and a share of the €100,000 total prize fund.

During the shortlisting process, the judging panel looked for digitally motivated community leaders who demonstrated digital thinking to creatively problem-solve and develop innovative ideas that disrupt and enhance towns and communities.


The shortlisted projects include:

Category: Digital Education

  • Sligo: Using digital tools to prove inclusive student support in higher education
  • Limerick: Scoutus Interruptus: How Digital Technology Helped Keep Us Scouting Through The Time of Covid
  • Dún Laoghaire Town: DigitalHQ clg: National centre for digitalisation of localities and their small businesses
  • Castlebar: Digital West
  • Balbriggan: Smart Balbriggan Transition Year Challenge


Category: Digital Tourism, sponsored by AIB Merchant Services

  • Gleann Cholm Cille: Building a digital cultural infrastructure for our community
  • Ballyvaughan: Linking the physical and digital worlds via interactive signage
  • Ballincollig: Gunpowder Mills – Mobile Phone App
  • Kildare Town: Innovative Digital Tourism in Ireland’s Ancient East
  • Cork: Cork Tourist Guide


Category: Community Digital, sponsored by Western Development Commission

  • Crumlin: Connecting Crumlin’s Community
  • Limerick: Tiny Little Histories
  • East Galway : Galway Wild Geese
  • Castleisland: Castleisland Market Town – a new digital age
  • Roscommon: Roscommon Rapid Response
  • Cootehill: St Patrick’s Day celebration
  • Ballybough: Pride of Place

Category: Digital Business, sponsored by Vodafone

  • Piltown: Taking charge of our Digital Future
  • Westport: Where no Westport business gets left behind
  • Carndonagh: Digital Town Gift Card Scheme
  • Dun Laoghaire Town: National centre for digitalisation of localities and their small businesses


Category: Digital Rising Star

  • Murroe: Scoutus Interruptus: How Digital Technology Helped Keep Us Scouting Through The Time of Covid
  • Castleisland: Castleisland Market Town – a new digital age
  • Urlingford: Town Team
  • Cootehill: St Patrick’s Day celebration


Category: Digital Changemaker, sponsored by Connected Hubs

  • Piltown: Taking charge of our Digital Future
  • Dingle Peninsula: Digitisation driving sustainability
  • Roscommon: Roscommon Rapid Response
  • Drimnagh: Tidy Drimnagh


Category: Digital Local Hero

  • Eoin Costello, Dun Laoghaire Town
  • Brian Mulligan, Sligo
  • Mary Fleming, Crumlin
  • Maeve McGrath, Limerick


The overall winners will be announced at the gala awards ceremony which will take place on 8 June.

Commenting on the announcement, Oonagh McCutcheon, National Director of the .IE Digital Town Programme, said:

“We are proud to announce our shortlist of projects for this year’s .IE Digital Town Awards. Last year’s winners set the bar exceptionally high, and this year we are again seeing great examples of how towns and community leaders are stepping up and adopting new ways of thinking and doing, with digital tools and innovation helping them to not only survive but thrive.

“Whether it is creating an online visitor experience to drive tourism in a town or a digital voucher scheme to encourage local commerce, there are many inspiring examples of everyday champions and digital leaders in our communities that are transforming local life and society in innovative and creative ways.

“Those shortlisted in today’s announcement have demonstrated impressive digital improvements and enhancements in their local town, and we are delighted to be able to honour and recognise their efforts.

“We look forward to celebrating these achievements with all our finalists at the gala awards event next month.”

The .IE Digital Town Awards, announced by .IE in 2021 as part of its overall .IE Digital Town programme, is part of four-year €1 million investment initiative focused on digital enhancement and digital technology adoption in Ireland’s towns.

This year, the .IE Digital Town Awards welcomes category sponsors Western Development Commission, Connected Hubs, Vodafone, and AIB Merchant Services.